The parish of St. Cuthbert’s, based in Burnbank, opened in 1893, whilst St. Ninian’s, based in Hillhouse, opened in 1958 (more detailed histories are available on the website.)
In 2011 the two parishes formed a linked parish and it was at that time we first became familiar with the growing community of Syro-Malabar Catholics. In 2016, Bishop Toal designated St. Cuthbert’s Church as the permanent base for Syro-Malabar Catholics residing in the Motherwell Diocese. Their vibrant and enthusiastic witness to the Catholic faith is now an integral part of our parish identity.
In 2018, the parishes of St. Ninian’s and St. Cuthbert’s officially became what we now call St.Ninian’s and St. Cuthbert’s Parish, still retaining the two church buildings and their separate identities.
Also in 2018, the Syro-Malabar community was established as a Mission by the name of St. Mary’s Syro-Malabar Mission, Hamilton, with Father Joseph Vembadamthara, VC as Mission Director.
In April 2021, Father Joseph left St. Ninian’s and St. Cuthbert’s Parish to return to India before taking up another post in Germany and was replaced by Father Johny Vettickal Abraham.